PDA

View Full Version : Head Prestige lines and arm problems

ultradr
02-03-2012, 04:36 PM
I've been using head prestige mp frames last 4-5 years. I have had
wrist, elbow problems on/off during that time. I'm pondering if the racquets
contributed any to it. Or just coincidence ? Prestige lines do have a bit of that brassy
feel to them. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Larrysümmers
02-03-2012, 04:44 PM
dont know, only hit a few serves with the mp, but it felt pretty close to my mid. they both feel sold yet soft to me. what string you using? i did think that my mid played stiffer with poly

The Big Kahuna
02-03-2012, 04:50 PM
I have been playing with a Head Prestige PRO for 4 years now, first the Microgel and now the Youtek. I moved to this racquet because it received such high praise for it's stability and comfort. The MP has a tighter sting pattern and is a bit lighter, but the frame is still one of the better ones on the market. I suspect your arm problems lie in your string tension, selection, or how often you re-string more than the frame.

I moved to this racquet from a lighter frame that gave me arm problems and using it resolved the issue. Of course, I also restring once a month religiously and string my racquet towards the lower end of the tension range to promote a more arm-friendly response. I also choose soft polys, multis, and gut as string for the same reason.

Smasher08
02-03-2012, 04:57 PM
For wrist & elbow problems, BK's right: it's likely related to your string choice and stroke technique.

If you're using poly strings, make sure they're only in the crosses. Otherwise you're at risk for wrist, arm and shoulder issues.

ultradr
02-03-2012, 05:15 PM