PDA

View Full Version : Prince 03 shark, a great tweener frame

dman72
02-06-2012, 05:23 AM
May be long and boring to some of you.

So I've been using Prince NXG OS's for the last 5 years or so, but it's time to move on. Over the last 3 years I've bought a half dozen frames, usually stuff on closeout. 03 Graphite 100, 03 Shark, Diablo MP, Microgel Instinct, and my old liquidmetal radical that I bought before the NXG's.

I basically modify all of them to have similar weights, balance, and swingweight. 350-360 grams strung with all the overgrips, dampeners and lead added, around 5-6 pts head light with swingweights probably in the 350's..swingweight not actualy measured, I go by feel. To me these specs are where tennis elbow dissapears and redirecting anything but the heaviest pace and spin becomes easy, while still being able to whip the head through on running or defensive shots.

I got these all freshly strung and took them out to my weekend indoor hitting session. After hitting about 20 strokes and a few serves with each, the 03 shark made me by far the most confident. The previous string on this made it seem like a rocket launcher, but with a Kevlar mains/poly hybrid at 65 lbs, the power was controllable. And no, I have no elbow pain after hitting for 3 sets. The added weight helps, and this is a very comfortable frame for being rated at 65 flex. The diablo and graphite 100 seemed to have much smaller sweetspots and jarred the arm more on anything off center (these are both strung around 50Lbs with the same string set up). The instinct seemed really low powered despite being a thick beam..probably because it's 18X19. The Radical is very nice and comfortable but it really slows my serve down.