PDA

View Full Version : Most durable tennis shoe ever...

zerojoshua
02-12-2012, 09:52 AM
Well, I am not a pro tennis player, but I am an athlete and wear through my shoes like butter. I started playing tennis, obsessively, 2 years and 3 months ago for 2 to 3 hours a days a week except on vacation, rain, snow, and obligations.

I assure you my tennis form has many flaws which I try to make up for by using athleticism and speed. Before tennis my obsessions were running, basketball, bicycling and whatever excuse I could find to move. None the less, the best tennis shoe I have ever owned by far has been:

1. Rod Laver originals (Around 3 months) :)
2. Stan Smith (Around 2 and a half months)
3. Wilson Pro Staff ( 2 months)
4. Tie , Barricade 6 ( 1 1/2 months with shoe goo on toe)
.. Nike Air Court Ballistec 3.1 ( 1 1/2 month with shoe goo on toe)

I've had quite a few other shoes not worth mentioning. (Ate through all of my basketball shoes before I started purchasing tennis shoes.

Yes, I probably pivot to much, like a basketball player......

I would like to try K-Swiss originals to see how they perform.

What has been the most durable shoes others have used?

NJ1
02-12-2012, 10:37 AM
For your issues, buy the Ballistec 3.3s. They're on sale, have a 6 mos warranty, and are suited to toe draggers due to the large amount of rubber and plastic up front.

frunk
02-12-2012, 10:41 AM
SIKE i wear the toes down on the ballistecs in less than 8 hours! Definitely not enough toe rubber there!

kingofstring
02-12-2012, 11:24 AM
SIKE i wear the toes down on the ballistecs in less than 8 hours! Definitely not enough toe rubber there!

I know I wear them down even faster especially when working on my backhand.

zerojoshua
02-12-2012, 01:48 PM
When I modified my Barricades with part of a tennis ball, I was accused of playing tennis wrong. :confused:

Well at least I'm not the only one that "plays tennis wrong."

Kenny022593
02-13-2012, 05:29 AM