PDA

View Full Version : Serving with SW grip!!!

xsmasher
02-15-2012, 09:01 AM
What is the pros and cons of serving with this grip..I get everything ok with this grip except the follow through.. Power,spin and location is ok. But sometimes I refer my shoulder pain to this grip😥

r2473
02-15-2012, 09:12 AM
Can I ask you how on earth you hit a serve with a SW grip?

xsmasher
02-15-2012, 09:38 AM
am used to it since I started playing two years ago..and am not alone

dominikk1985
02-15-2012, 10:11 AM
Can I ask you how on earth you hit a serve with a SW grip?

A lot of "housewife players" use that grip. It's also called frying pan grip. of course this is not very athletic because you cannot pronate the wrist into the shot. you basically just push the ball over the net.

many badminton beginner play like this too.

r2473
02-15-2012, 10:34 AM
^^ The frying pan grip is the the "eastern" grip (I actually can't imagine picking up a frying pan with a SW grip).

But I really can't imagine serving with a SW grip. I was just messing around in my office with that grip and doing the service motion. No idea how that would work.

mikeler
02-15-2012, 11:20 AM
^^ The frying pan grip is the the "eastern" grip (I actually can't imagine picking up a frying pan with a SW grip).

But I really can't imagine serving with a SW grip. I was just messing around in my office with that grip and doing the service motion. No idea how that would work.

Would work great for a screwball (reverse slice) style spin serve. Never hurts to add more bush league shots to your game ya know.

Chace
02-15-2012, 12:13 PM
To the OP, you won't get nearly as good of a wrist snap with a sw grip. But as Mikeler said it is good when trying to throw in the screwball serve.

sureshs
02-15-2012, 12:15 PM
Yes, great for creating reverse slice and dislocated shoulders.

WildVolley
02-15-2012, 02:25 PM