PDA

View Full Version : New racquet possibilities?

aqz
02-29-2012, 06:18 AM
Hello, wooo first post here!

I'm a 4.0 player in need of a new stick. I've been playing with a Wilson K Factor KFour 105 MP for the past 4-5 years (all through high school). Lately, I've been feeling like I'm losing control on my shots. As an aggressive baseliner, I try to hit deep into the court while generating as much pace as possible, but I've been hitting a lot of long shots past the baseline, usually not more than a foot long. Clearance above the net isn't huge either, maybe at most 2-3 feet.

I thus did some research on my racquet and turns out it's more of a power racquet (head heavy, stiff, medium power), which is leading me to think I've outgrown this racquet because I'm starting to consistently generate too much power on my shots. Seeing as how it is 4-5 years old, I guess it's time to find a new one.

Key criteria: Lower power, more control, also less head heavy (feels like I can't hold onto the racquet on my forehands when I swing fast).

I was thinking Head Youtek IG Speed 18x20 or 16x19 (input on which stringbed might suit the transition from Wilson K Four better would be appreciated). Any other suggestions?

Ramon
02-29-2012, 06:37 AM
You are looking at going from one extreme to the other. The 16x19 would probably be an easier transition for you than the 18x20. I haven't tried the Youtek IG Speed, but about a year ago I tried the Prestige models that came before the most recent ones. These racquets will give you all the key critieria you listed, and maybe more of that than you bargained for. However, it does sound like your game is maturing towards it, so I'd say it's worth a demo. You might find that the Head's grip shape is much different from the Wilson's. I prefer rounder shaped grips like the Wilson's.

I also demoed some racquets recently that you might want to try. Here are my thoughts on them:

http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=413091

aqz