PDA

View Full Version : has anyone gone from 4 1/2 to 4 3/8?

rincode
03-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Hey guys, I'm a 4.5 player and I've been playing tennis for about 8 years now. I'm currently using the Wilson six-one tour 90 in 4 1/2 and have been for the past 5 years or so. I'm considering moving down to 4 3/8 and was wondering if anyone else has done this and can offer some insight. Did you like it more? What were the effects on your balls from going down to a smaller grip? Do you like it better? Did you go back to 4 1/2? If you could also include your ntrp that'd be great! Thanks guys!

scotus
03-10-2012, 09:59 AM
Hey guys, I'm a 4.5 player and I've been playing tennis for about 8 years now. I'm currently using the Wilson six-one tour 90 in 4 1/2 and have been for the past 5 years or so. I'm considering moving down to 4 3/8 and was wondering if anyone else has done this and can offer some insight. Did you like it more? What were the effects on your balls from going down to a smaller grip? Do you like it better? Did you go back to 4 1/2? If you could also include your ntrp that'd be great! Thanks guys!

I am a 4.5 as well.

I started out with L5 grip and played with L4 for many years. Moving down to L3 was a very easy transition.

It can help you enhance your racket head speed and spin if you have a relaxed grip, since the smaller handle will help you loosen up the grip even more.

But if you tend to grip it tight (in an effort to keep stability or whatever), then a smaller grip would fatigue your arm much quicker.

L3 is the new L4. You will have a much easier time buying/selling used racquets with L3 grip.

eagle
03-10-2012, 10:02 AM
Aloha rincode,

I have a pair of Prince Tour Diablo Mids with 4 1/2 grips.

I recently cracked the frame on one of them.

When I bought the replacement, I opted to go with the 4 3/8 since that is the only size my pro shop could get for me. Interestingly though, I actually like it more than the 4 1/2.