PDA

View Full Version : Switching to Prince Diablo Mid

zzain
03-11-2012, 08:50 PM
Hey..I'm a beginner (2.0 - 2.5ish) and I've hit with a beginners' racket so far (Wilson Federer 110). My coach encouraged me to experience hitting with a pro racket. So I hit with his Prince Diablo Mid. The smaller head size wasn't the problem. It felt a little heavy but I'm pretty sure I can adjust to the weight. The real problem is that it was much powerful than my beginner's racket. I don't have to complete my swing to get the ball across. I'm worried that if I switch, I won't be able to develop my shots. What do you guys think?

eagle
03-11-2012, 11:13 PM
Aloha zzain,

I hate to say it but in most cases, it is not the racquet. It is the person who wields it who needs the work.

Learn and master the fundamentals. After you do, then you can move up to a tweener racquet. Besides, a player's racquet like the Tour Diablo is far too advanced for you at this time.

Good luck and have fun. You'll get there.

Mahalo,
eagle

Tennis in Hawaii: http://www.tennisinhawaii.com
Gonna Love It Tennis: http://www.gonnalove-it.com/tennis
Keohi Tennis: http://www.keohi.com/tennis

sansaephanh
03-11-2012, 11:16 PM
dont forget fuzzy yellow balls!

zzain
03-12-2012, 05:29 PM
thanks guys

thug the bunny
03-13-2012, 05:39 AM
The power you feel comes from the weight, and if you don't think the weight is too much for you (you should make that decision after 3 sets), you should be able to progress with the Diablo. It's sweetspot is pretty big for a 95. Just be aware that it will not let you get away (as much) with sloppy technique, starting with footwork and ball focus. Take your eyes off the ball even one fraction of a second before the hit, and you will be rewarded with a nice clank feel. Thus, your progress may be slower than with a big light stick, but in the end it will be deeper and more complete.

Enjoy your journey.

bc-05
03-13-2012, 06:35 AM