PDA

View Full Version : hybrid machine

mr. stevo
05-01-2004, 10:11 PM
hi, i'm a newbie at this but i really like to do extensive research before i buy anything and i was just wondering, if i am a handy man, would it be possible if i bought a drop weight machine that holds a racket quite firmly then construct a base that will support the wise 2086? Reason for this is that i am willing to spend around 1000 on a new stringing machine, and i was looking at the alpha revo4000 but i stumbled on the wise 2086 not too long ago. And this idea stirred up. The wise 2086 seems really appealing to me and i thought if i could buy a drop weight and somehow fix up a base that supports both of the machine i would save a bunch of money and have a great stringing machine. Any opinions would be gladly accepted to help me decide if i should buy the alpha machine or just build a hybrid. thanks for you time.

Smashlob
05-02-2004, 07:42 AM
I do believe that the machine has to be a crank/lockout to use a Wise 2086, and no amount of modification that you do to a dropweight will make a difference, because it needs the tensioner track.

Gaines Hillix
05-02-2004, 08:55 AM
I agree, I don't think this would be practical. The Wise head is designed to fit on a crank machine's tension head arm. Anything is possible, but I don't think it would be worth the effort.

mr. stevo
05-02-2004, 10:22 AM
okay thanks for the reply's, it was just a thought. i will go ahead a purchse an alpha revo 4000.

rich s
05-02-2004, 03:18 PM
Sorry but my thoughts are just the opposite.

I have a Progression 602FC and I have been toying with the idea of doing just what mr. stevo is talking about.

If you can weld or know someone who does and have a little bit of mechanical inclination it would be quite easy to do.

rich

Xanataos
05-02-2004, 06:11 PM
How much is the Wise Tension head?

mr. stevo
05-02-2004, 06:30 PM