PDA

View Full Version : Prince Neos String Crimping Problem - Beginner

ahoomira
04-04-2012, 08:51 PM
Hi All -
I just started stringing with a Prince Neos 1000. I'm pretty new to this so please bear with me and I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong here or its just the machine. I would think I'm doing something wrong.

Well when I tension the string, then tension head (jaws) always leave crimp marks on the strings. I don't know how to not do this. My procedure is, I put the string in between the jaws and crank. The jaws grab the string and tension it, I always get marks (crimping on my strings). Today I strung a racquet with a 16 gauge poly at 60lbs and the string snapped within 15 minutes. I can tell it snapped where one of the crimps were from the tension head. By the way it was Volkl Xplosion strings. However, I also noticed on another racquet of mine I strung with Volkl Cyclone and on a part of the string where it was crimped by the tension head, you can pretty much see the string is splitting.

SO....I know I'm doing something wrong here, so can someone enlighten me on the things I need to do/need not to do?

Thanks guys!

zapvor
04-04-2012, 09:07 PM
sounds like you got the clamps too tight. adjust it so its a bit looser, but not too loose so the string slips when you pull tension

sstchur
04-04-2012, 10:09 PM
Sometimes what I would do when I was starting out was take a black crayon, or a grease pencil (something that wasn't permanent) and mark the string between the teeth once I've clamped it. That way I could visually see if there was any slipping and adjust accordingly (and if you're seeing indentations on the string, you can loosen the clamps and still be sure it wasn't too loose if you have the pencil mark as a guide).

Usually you don't have to do this for very long. You being to get a feel for the right amount of pressure over time.