PDA

View Full Version : Why, What, and How: My First Stringing

tovli
04-20-2012, 08:09 PM
My First Stringing Story

I strung my first racquet yesterday, and it turned out great. I'm going to explain why *I* decided to buy a stringing machine, what I decided to buy and why, and how my first stringing experience went.

I am an engineer. I like to investigate and study, and especially like to solve problems (real and sometimes imagined). After purchasing the RacquetTune app for my iPhone, I had one of my racquets restrung at my local pro shop with their recommended solid core string and tension.

I picked up the racquet right after being strung, and quickly recorded a first "tension data point". The app reported one pound higher than the reference tension requested. Being only the first data point, and using a generic string factor, I didn't put much confidence in the actual number, but it was exciting.

After two weeks, the reported "tension" on my racquet had leveled out around 14% below the first reading, and numerically was matching the reading of my wife's racquet which had not been restrung in two years. (We have identical racquets.) While this "fact" clearly meant to my wife there was no need to have her racquet restrung, I saw an opportunity for an experiment.

The best experiment would have been to have her racquet restrung with the same string and tension as mine, but I was eager to try playing with a multifilament. I specified the string, but kept the reference tension the same as my racquet. The racquet came home reporting a RacquetTune tension about 5 pounds under the reference tension. With only one data point for this string, it was too early to draw any conclusions about the string or stringer. Because the tension on the multi strung racquet was low, I didn't play much with it, causing it to take a month to level out.