PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Stosur vs Stephens

Posture Guy
06-04-2012, 03:46 AM
A few random thoughts.

- I really like Stosur's game. If she can get more consistent, she could win multiple majors. But more than almost anyone else I see, she combines stunning, superlative play with brain dead unforced errors.

- Stephens has the potential to be a special player. I think this tournament was good for her. She tightened up and failed to seize the moment in the first set when she had the chance, and then went into about a 20 minute pity party after and dug a hole she couldn't climb out from, but she has game.

- I think the US Open is going to be her best surface and environment. I'm looking forward to seeing what she does there. If she gets a decent draw, she could make some noise.

- Unfortunately, I'm also seeing postural issues with her that predispose her to injury. Given what I do for a living, I just naturally assess the players I watch. And there is a very strong connection between certain postural pathologies and different types of injury. With Stephens, if she doesn't get this dialed in she's going to have back and hamstring issues that are going to limit how good she can be.

It's going to be a fun week 2 at the tourney. A lot of interesting story lines to follow.

halalula1234
06-04-2012, 04:04 AM
What posture are u talking about that stephens is doing wrong?

Posture Guy
06-04-2012, 04:23 AM