PDA

View Full Version : What if the ball hits the roof???


BigForehand
06-29-2012, 09:59 PM
The roof at wimby is pretty low, what if a player lobs such that it hits the roof? Does it go by the rule of hitting a fixture, but that's a bit unfair since in this sport you are supposed to have open sky.

TopFH
06-29-2012, 10:01 PM
I don't see any reason as to why someone would need to lob that high.

jokinla
06-29-2012, 10:01 PM
The roof at wimby is pretty low, what if a player lobs such that it hits the roof? Does it go by the rule of hitting a fixture, but that's a bit unfair since in this sport you are supposed to have open sky.

If you hit the roof it's out, if not, you could just crank it up there as hard as you wanted and have it bounce awkwardly back in, possibly.

firepanda
06-29-2012, 10:16 PM
I'd say they would replay the point. The roof is still quite high, though and lobs never go too high or they become hard to control.

bluetrain4
06-29-2012, 10:18 PM
I assume it's the same as at an indoor club. If it hits the roof on your shot, you lose the point.

SystemicAnomaly
06-29-2012, 11:00 PM
I assume it's the same as at an indoor club. If it hits the roof on your shot, you lose the point.

That would make sense. Otherwise, if a player is on trouble, they might purposely hit the roof in order to get a replay.

trenzterra
06-30-2012, 12:01 AM
Maybe that's why nadal lost as he was too worried his topspin forehand would hit the roof

frinton
06-30-2012, 12:11 AM
Maybe that's why nadal lost as he was too worried his topspin forehand would hit the roof

Super LOL...

Sentinel
06-30-2012, 12:38 AM
The roof at wimby is pretty low, what if a player lobs such that it hits the roof? Does it go by the rule of hitting a fixture, but that's a bit unfair since in this sport you are supposed to have open sky.
No worries, Nadal is out now :D :D

Starfury
06-30-2012, 01:26 AM
The only object the ball is allowed to hit are the netposts. Everything else is out.

NadalIsTheBest
06-30-2012, 02:03 AM
Maybe that's why nadal lost as he was too worried his topspin forehand would hit the roof

winner is you

Sentinel
06-30-2012, 03:21 AM
winner is you
Welcome to the forums, bro.

Tell us who is your favorite player, and how well do you play ?

gavna
06-30-2012, 04:27 AM
The rule is if it hits the roof it's out point over. So if player A hits a lob that high and it hits the roof point over and player B wins it. Same exact rule they have in place for indoor events - its happened with some of the indoor venues with the low hanging scoreboard and screens.

Cosmic_Colin
06-30-2012, 08:21 AM
The rule is if it hits the roof it's out point over. So if player A hits a lob that high and it hits the roof point over and player B wins it. Same exact rule they have in place for indoor events - its happened with some of the indoor venues with the low hanging scoreboard and screens.

Yeah this happened at the 2011 WTF when I was there, ball hit the overhanging scoreboard, resulting in a lost point.

dr325i
06-30-2012, 12:23 PM
I'd say they would replay the point.

I don't think so...
That rule does not exist. Whoever hits the roof loses the point.

15_ounce
07-01-2012, 12:14 AM
Maybe that's why nadal lost as he was too worried his topspin forehand would hit the roof

WUaHahaHAhahahahahaha HAHahahahahHAAHhahahAHAHAhuAH hUAHHH