PDA

View Full Version : Line judge gets hit in the eye by serve


Torres
07-02-2012, 05:03 PM
Did anyone else see this? Ooh, nasty.

I guess she has to keep eyes on the lines and not track where the ball is going.

All credit to her - along with her call, she even hand gestured that the ball was out after getting blasted in the face by the ball.

http://www.nesn.com/2012/07/wimbledon-line-judge-takes-118-mph-serve-to-face-still-able-to-make-call-video.html

Lucky she's alot further away. I woman I know at my club took a ball in the face and ended up with a detached retina.

SwankPeRFection
07-02-2012, 05:57 PM
You think she'll be able to see normally from that eye from now on or will she have like a fisheye view going on? :p

The Bawss
07-02-2012, 05:59 PM
You think she'll be able to see normally from that eye from now on or will she have like a fisheye view going on? :p

HAHAHAHAHHAHA honestly this is the best post I have ever seen on here. Congrats!

tistrapukcipeht
07-02-2012, 06:04 PM
I hope she doesn't have any complications from it, but her eye will be as black as it could be.

CRWV
07-02-2012, 06:16 PM
Fwiw, if she does have complications from it, she probably wouldn't need to be a line judge any longer... (cash money, get the paper...)

OldFedIsOld
07-02-2012, 08:26 PM
lol the quality of the video is kind of bad, it makes the line judge look kind of hot. 118mph on a grass court into the eye, ouch that has got to hurt!

JustBob
07-02-2012, 08:31 PM
That's clearly assault on a line judge. Fish should have been disqualified.

SwankPeRFection
07-02-2012, 11:09 PM
^^^ That only happens if your last name is Nalbandian. Seriously though... can you imagine the headlines had Nal actually done this? Obviously not an accident on purpose (lol), but it would be interesting to see how the media would have twisted it. Lol

Faster
07-03-2012, 02:34 AM
Fish really has a beautiful serve motion. So smooth and fluid.

bezs
07-03-2012, 06:58 AM
Still makes the call after getting hit, a real trooper.

El Mejor
07-03-2012, 09:38 AM
Thats gotta hurt

CCNM
07-03-2012, 02:53 PM
Very kind of Tsonga to see if she was ok. :)

retrowagen
07-03-2012, 03:37 PM
Edberg actually killed a line judge with one of his serves.

Rock Strongo
07-03-2012, 04:05 PM
Edberg actually killed a line judge with one of his serves.

Whenever I read that I'm still impressed that he managed to pull himself together and have that kind of career. I know that he considered quitting tennis and he stayed close to that family but that little thought, even though it was a complete accident, just stays with you forever.

SwankPeRFection
07-03-2012, 10:46 PM
Edberg actually killed a line judge with one of his serves.

I think it's important to denote that the ball strike DID NOT cause the actual injury which caused death. The 60 year old caught one in the junk and fell over from the pain. He hit his head and cracked his skull on the court. Later on the way to the hospital he has a heart attack.

Definitely a bad chain of events, but it's not like Edberg hits an ace that nails the guy in the head and it was lights out.