PDA

View Full Version : Volkl V1 for advanced players?

lstewart
10-15-2012, 07:32 AM
Can anyone give me their thoughts for the different variations of the Volkl V1 as a frame that can be used effectively for a 4.5 male player that likes to swing away? I've been using the Becker London for a couple of years, and elbow / wrist problems have kept me from using stiff frames like the Pure Drive. I've read lots of good comments about the various V1's, but the light weight and power level leaves me with concerns. Anyone using it that swings with power and still able to hit with consistancy? Sounds like it is very easy on the arm, in spite of the stiffness level.

ollinger
10-15-2012, 08:06 AM
Have hit with three iterations of the V1, always felt there was a little too much pop and not enough mass for big hitters.

sureshs
10-15-2012, 08:39 AM
I hit briefly with another guy's BB's latest version of V1, Sportster or something like that, and it was EXTREMELY comfortable. They say it is the Sensor Handle system, but it was more comfortable than the original V1 which I used to own. The strokes were also coming out solid, so I was left thinking why I use a heavier frame when this seems to do the job. The sweetspot is also huge.

bad_call
10-15-2012, 09:06 AM
briefly hit with V1. too much trampoline and vague shot making for this player.

lstewart
10-15-2012, 10:09 AM
Interesting about the Becker Sportster being a similar frame. I had not looked at it as an option. It's a little more weight and not as stiff, so might be an interesting option to look at. I've got demos of the Volkl V1 Classic and Power Bridge V1 on the way. Generally I would not mind playing with something with a little more pop if I could control it, did not create more arm issues, and felt like there is enough weight to not get pushed around.

goherd27
10-15-2012, 10:50 AM