PDA

View Full Version : Best racquet for Windshield wiper FH

Sreeram
10-17-2012, 10:43 AM
I used to be a flat hitter when I was playing with AST GT. But somehow transitioned to hit modern windshield wiper FH starting the swing with closed racquet face to hit with more spin when I moved to Gold99. Gold was brilliant for such strokes and I got very high success, especially with punishing 2nd serve by jumping in.

Is it true that some racquets favor certain kind of strokes? I believe it is true because I could never hit the same FH with AST GT, AST alowed me to hit flat with confidence but not this spinny FH.

What other racquets that are available today that will favor such modern FH?

Sreeram
10-17-2012, 10:50 AM
My problem is, since I am still learning to hit FH this way, I am not hitting the sweet spot all the time. Gold is very forgiving racquet for these mishits and the ball still goes where I wanted.

Racer41c
10-17-2012, 10:56 AM
I used to be a flat hitter when I was playing with AST GT. But somehow transitioned to hit modern windshield wiper FH starting the swing with closed racquet face to hit with more spin when I moved to Gold99. Gold was brilliant for such strokes and I got very high success, especially with punishing 2nd serve by jumping in.

Is it true that some racquets favor certain kind of strokes? I believe it is true because I could never hit the same FH with AST GT, AST alowed me to hit flat with confidence but not this spinny FH.

What other racquets that are available today that will favor such modern FH?

Well all I can say is I hit with the same racquet with the same stroke. No complaints what so ever. You may find a different racquet to hit with but I keep finding that the gold is unique and fits me and my game perfectly.

Question for you: What's your backhand stroke? What's your string setup?

prjacobs
10-17-2012, 11:00 AM