PDA

View Full Version : a few tennis questions

enishi1357
11-20-2012, 09:18 PM
I want to make this thread because I have begin to question some tennis advice I received when i was a noob. To get us started:

Why does the body need to stay low?

Say Chi Sin Lo
11-20-2012, 09:27 PM
Less moving parts, less chances of something going to hell.

An opportunity to use more of your core and legs to power into the shot. If it's high, it's really arm and upperbody strength.

Easier to control the shot, because the swing is closer to your body. When it gets high, you're swinging away from your body.

Ever-so-slightly faster time to return to ready position for the next shot.

Opportunity to impart more topspin into the shot. Remember you're brushing upwards, but if you're already high to begin with, there's not much more "up".

That's all I can think of.

Cheetah
11-20-2012, 09:43 PM
Less moving parts, less chances of something going to hell.

Not true at all.

Easier to control the shot, because the swing is closer to your body. When it gets high, you're swinging away from your body.

This is negligible. Not really relevant in this context.

Ever-so-slightly faster time to return to ready position for the next shot.

Hmm... sort of but not really.

Opportunity to impart more topspin into the shot. Remember you're brushing upwards, but if you're already high to begin with, there's not much more "up".

Nope.

Staying low gives you better balance and a lower center of gravity, quicker reaction time for a couple of reasons and more power because the legs are engaged.

SystemicAnomaly
11-21-2012, 04:12 AM