PDA

View Full Version : New to High School coaching - best practices/experiences

Fletch
01-06-2013, 08:36 AM
I will be a high school coach this year. :) I am a uspta pro, have been teaching kids for several years and have been an assistant at other schools before. Never coached full time before because of a full time job. My goal is to provide these kids with the best possible tennis experience I can. (we are not a very good team, we will win only a couple matches at best) I want them to improve as much as they can, be good sports and enjoy a lifetime sport.

What I am asking from you are best experiences/practices for the kids. Did you or your coach do something that you really enjoyed and thought was a great idea? What benefited you the most or what do you do that benefits the team. This can be from practice, challenge matches, match day experiences, player intro's, post match, etc.

I hope to get several ideas and mold my team around the best ones.

Thanks

Fletch

PS We will be practicing an a gym for the first couple weeks because of weather, I will be using the foam ball for that.

Head Pegger
01-06-2013, 10:22 AM
Perhaps if you're inside because of weather you can show them some good video of tennis. Could be a video like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdcwbQa7S5E
or maybe instructional.

rkelley
01-06-2013, 11:19 AM
I think the biggest gift you can give a group of kids like you're describing is the gift of teaching them how to play the game. Teach them proper strokes.

There's a guy on this board named Dave Smith. If he pops into this thread listen to everything he says. He's also written a book, Coaching Mastery, that you should pick up.

I'm going go out on a limb and offer a couple of thoughts, but listen to Dave if he says something different: