PDA

View Full Version : Pro Kennex 5G Serving

gotwheels
08-23-2005, 11:33 AM
I am fairly new to the Pro Kennex 5G and love the soft feel of the racquet. The racquet does a very nice job on groundstrokes and volleys and cetainly is great on the arm.

The only downside for me is that I lost power on the serve with this stick. Serve control and placement is very good, just not enough juice for an occasional ace or two. I am not a string breaker and use Tecnifibre E-Matrix 17 at 52 pounds on a drop-weight constant pull (equivalent to about 58 pounds lock-out) stringer. Racquet tension range is 52-68 pounds (I have assumed this to be a lock-out tension reference).

Have others experienced a similar service power reduction? Any suggestions? Any other racquet recommendations that have the attributes of the PK 5G plus more power in the serve? Is the PK Ki5 a better performer?

Thanks

Ed Lee
08-23-2005, 12:34 PM
I have experienced the same problem with the PK5G. Nice groundstrokes and volleys, and great on the elbow, but very weak on the serve. May I suggest going to a lower string tension and using gut in order to get a bit more velocity on your serve?

Marius_Hancu
08-23-2005, 12:45 PM
Valid for every heavy racket:

I'd suggest to change a little bit your technique and toss more into the court. Also, relax your arm and grip in order to get flexible and use racket's mass in a more "ballistic" fashion (i.e. lashing at the ball).

If you toss above yourself, it'll be a heck lot of an effort.

Use more the other elements in the hit chain: legs, torso rotation, hip tensioning, etc.

Fred132
08-24-2005, 04:32 AM
Give the Ki5 a try. It's not quite as smooth for groundstrokes, but is more powerful and about as comfortable as the 5G.

backcourt
08-24-2005, 07:18 AM