PDA

View Full Version : Prestretching - best way to do it manually?

waterpro
05-10-2004, 06:54 AM
I am fairly new to stringing and have never really prestretched string before. I use Technifibre NGR2 18 guage which probably should be pre-stretched. I am curious how you guys do it? I am assuming it involves wrapping it around something and pulling? If this is the case what do you guys use and how hard do you pull? Do you pull with all your might or just half stength? I just want to make sure I don't damage the string in any way.

Thanks!

Gaines Hillix
05-10-2004, 08:40 AM
There are a few different ways to do it. The best way is to tie one end to an immoveable object, like a post or pillar and pull the string out to its full length. Then wrap a couple of wraps of the other end tightly around a block of wood or dowl. You can also use a starting clamp or parallel jaw pliers to hold it. Then stand sideways(in-case the string comes loose and snaps back at you) and pull hard on the string for about 30 secs. or so. The key is to be as consistent as possible with how much pressure you put on the string and for how long. You should be able to feel the string stretch and then firm up. If you don't have enough room to do this, you can wrap the string around a door knob or small pully attached to something solid and then pull on both ends of the string.

PHSTennis
05-10-2004, 06:44 PM
Take it out of the package and pull it with all your might... I read on here somewhere... My stringer comes on Thursday... Im starting first string job on a friends racket... please answer my post about that also, thank you

Hawaii 5.0
05-10-2004, 11:48 PM