PDA

View Full Version : Tips for teaching beginners

RoddickOwnzYou
10-03-2005, 02:05 PM
Hi all. I've been playing the game for about 6 years, but I taught myself for the first 4 and have only taken lessons at a more advanced level. I have 2 friends that are looking to learn the game (they know very little, but have played). I have some ideas as to what to start them out doing, but would love some feedback and tips on some good approaches to teaching noobies the basics of the game. Any and all help is much appreciated!

safin_protege
10-03-2005, 03:24 PM
I am not much of teacher at all, having only taught one of my friends who was similarly skilled to the friends of which you speak. My one suggestion is to take it slowly - don't overwhelm them with miniscule details of technique, work on the basics first.

nickybol
10-03-2005, 09:20 PM
1 aspect at a time. Make sure you have a bucket of balls so you can feed them. Feeding balls is very useful for beginners. Keep it simple, when giving feedback just talk about one point at a time. If someone hits a backhand don`t say you must rotate your shoulder more, step in with your foot, swing from low to high, not that all, just one thing at a time.

Focus on consistency and the correct technique. Start playing mini-tennis, also with adults.

There`s so much to tell about this, but if you want to know anything, ask it. If you wanna play sure, hire a teaching pro ;)

rfederer32291
10-04-2005, 04:46 AM
I am not much of teacher at all, having only taught one of my friends who was similarly skilled to the friends of which you speak. My one suggestion is to take it slowly - don't overwhelm them with miniscule details of technique, work on the basics first.