PDA

View Full Version : Holding the racquet shorter... opinion, Bungalo Bill, Marcus, Manhoob, and friends ?

floran ivanisevic
10-10-2005, 07:44 AM
Like some batters do hold the bat shorter in Baseball ( Ichiro for control ) or golfers (Langer ), would you say that holding the grip a bit shorter would help for control ?
When I started playing some racquets where 25, 26 inches. Now they are all 27, or more...
I personally have better control on my top spin serves or, Jim Courier like forehands when I hold the racquet grip shorter...
It feels stiffer though, and might lead to injuries ?
Less racquet head speed, and less whip, or centrifugal force, or use of the wrist, so even if the ball is heavier and has better control, it might be slower ?
But I can't do like Federer and just hold it at the butt on serves and forehand, having an extreme loose wrist and still have the control of a magician at impact...
So I wonder... is it really bad to hold it shorter like I do ?
Or is it OK if I feel good with it ?
I guess Seles was holding it shorter, and is Safin also ?

Mahboob Khan
10-10-2005, 07:58 AM
On ground strokes if you hold the racket shorter (up front), it will make your wrist firm and will provide better control (may be less elasticity).

On volleys it is preferred to hold it firm so that wrist is firm as well. This can be achieved if you hold the racket a bit upfront.

On all types of serves, it is preferred to hold the racket loose with continental grip and hold it such that the butt cap is within your palm .. the pinky finger is almost off the handle.

I think the above is reasonable advice for you.

ktncnttl
10-10-2005, 08:08 AM
On ground strokes if you hold the racket shorter (up front), it will make your wrist firm and will provide better control (may be less elasticity).

On volleys it is preferred to hold it firm so that wrist is firm as well. This can be achieved if you hold the racket a bit upfront.