PDA

View Full Version : Western

AMD64
10-15-2005, 08:36 AM
I just switched to western and find it really good for me... I get more balls over since I hit with more topspin...

anyone think this is a bad switch? Ive been playing semi western for 3 years

rfederer32291
10-15-2005, 08:40 AM
I just switched to western and find it really good for me... I get more balls over since I hit with more topspin...

anyone think this is a bad switch? Ive been playing semi western for 3 years
i would actually stay with a semi western, because you have the ability to take short/low balls easier than with a western. you can also hit with a lot of spin from a semi-western forehand grip as well as a full western grip.

Marius_Hancu
10-15-2005, 08:59 AM
you might want to read this one:

which is better western or eastern forehand?
http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?p=548410

including the opinions by Lansdorp

AMD64
10-15-2005, 09:01 AM
eastern?? thats never an option for me... doesnt seem good at all

rfederer32291
10-15-2005, 09:14 AM
i've never been too fond of an eastern grip either.

Marius_Hancu
10-15-2005, 09:31 AM

read the comments in that thread, perhaps they will convince you to stay with SW

BTW, Sampras and many other great players were Eastern, Fed is moving in between it and SW

Marius_Hancu
10-15-2005, 09:53 AM
W is much more demanding in terms of footwork, and when you will get slower/older, you'll have major problems

also, it's much more difficult to switch from it to the continental for volleys, reason why the W players never do too much at the net

also, I will contend W is putting more stress on your elbow, esp if you're not careful

try to imitate Fed with a much more straight elbow than Ferrero; this requires SW

as I mentioned somewhere else: