PDA

View Full Version : Looking to purchase machine, have questions...please help.

tmoney37
05-23-2004, 08:13 PM
Hello,

I am looking to purchase a stringer for myself. I don't have a lot of money so I was looking at the Klippermate because of the price and it seems to get the best reviews out of any stringer in that price range. (is it just me or is Eagnas total junk?). I pretty much will only be stringing my racquets and my girlfriends'. We both use stiff high end racquets (I play with Head i.Prestige Mids and she uses Wilson ProStaff 6.1 Classics...I also on occasion play with my old, and classic, Prince Graphite 90s). I will mostly be using SynGut 16 or Wilson's Sensation. I have some experience stringing, as I strung for a couple of summers at the pro shop where I worked when off from college. However, we had a Babolat Star 3 Double Line which I refer to as the Rolls Royce of stringing machines and was very easy to use and a far cry from the Klippermate ($145 to $4,000). Thus, I have no experience with a drop-weight stringer or using floating clamps and I have two questions:

1) How far off the mark are drop weights? I am about a 4.0 player and wouldn't be that concerned if it was a few pounds off but I seem to read some reviews of machines being up to 10lbs off.

2) My biggest concern is the two point mounting system. I have read mostly bad things about this system, though a few counter arguments (stability vs. allowing the racquet to go through its natural flexion). Has anyone had bad experiences with it (i.e. - breaking your frame?). Any education on the two point mounting system would be great.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Deuce
05-23-2004, 11:34 PM
A drop weight machine which is made correctly will generally be even more accurate than will any electronic machine - including your 'Rolls Royce'. There is no substitute for good ol' gravity.