PDA

View Full Version : stringing tolerates mistakes

spirit
10-28-2005, 06:52 AM
I strung my third racquet with my new Gamma x-2. I am still learning and so I find myself making mistakes. This time I got 4 or 5 mains strung and then I mistakenly took off the wrong clamp and lost all tension. I simply started over again, which meant the strings (the cheapest gamma synthetic gut), at least those that had been tensioned to that point, got tensioned twice. Then when I was finishing the string job, I found that when I did the tie off knot, the piece of string on the outside of the racquet that goes to the tie off hole was fairly loose after I did the tie off. I can still easily move this piece of string with my thumb or finger. And I noticed that the cross string nearest to the head of the racquet is faily loose (not much tension). However, I played with the racquet last night and it seems to hit fine. So my conclusion is that the final stringing result is fairly tolerant of mistakes, such as I made on this one. Can any of you more experienced stringers confirm this?

Funny thing is that if I had paid a stringer to string my racquet and they had given it back to me with these mistakes, I probably would have come down on him/her pretty hard.

tennisguy2121
10-28-2005, 07:51 AM
Well it depends on the person, whether they will notice a mistake on a string job, I would think a pro would, but a common person might not, you never know with people. At the shop I work at, it is done perfect, it is is strung again, my boss does not allow mistakes. Now on the last cross, do you think you might not have tensioned it? I have done that before, and had to restring it.

spirit
10-28-2005, 07:57 AM