PDA

View Full Version : Signum Experiences: Consistent Shearing

stemple
11-01-2005, 06:26 AM
Hi all,

Just thought I'd pass on my experience using Signum Poly Plasma, Megaforce and Polystar Energy (used all three in both 17g and 16g) in a couple of brand new Babolat APDs strung btw 59-65 pounds.

Now, most importantly, all six sets sheared within a couple hours. The Plasma sheared (when the string breaks at the frame/grommet hole as a result of a mishit) within 30 minutes. The Megaforce lasted longer, almost an hour. Polystar Energy was the best, both in terms of performance and durability, with the 16g making it to three hours before taking an early exit.

I'd been using Lux Alu and Timo in APDs for several months before my Signum/Polystar test and never once had a shearing incident. I do my own stringing (and have run a stringing business for over a decade). I am a former instructor and university player, now at about USTA 5.25.

All of the shearing incidents happened on moderate mishits (the kind where the ball still goes in).

FWIW, I liked the Energy and the Megaforce quite a bit, but found the Plasma a little dead and underpowered compared to Lux.

That's all.

mellofelow
11-01-2005, 07:13 AM
I can see that happening in Plasma because the last 3 sets I strung, it would snap and break easily when I tie the knot using a needle nose plier. Unlike you though, I didn't have the same issue as you during play. I have a feeling it has to do with racquet and grommet support.

stemple
11-01-2005, 07:24 AM
Yeah, I think the Bab APD may be part of the cause (though the racquets are essentially fresh, grommets undamaged).

However, the fact that Lux, even the thin TIMO, has never sheared makes me think the Signum string itself is the major part of the problem. Whether it's a crappy batch (unlikely, given that it happened 6x) or just slightly weak/brittle by design, is hard to say.

equinox
11-01-2005, 07:37 AM