PDA

View Full Version : Burning strings?

Jeffe
11-07-2005, 05:42 AM
I'm new to stringing and just did my first two jobs this weekend on a Klippermate. The Klippermate instructions were very good and led me through the process with little problem. There was one thing that really lengthened my time though. While doing the crosses there was a comment in the instuctions to not pull the string through too fast on the crosses because you may burn the string. I think this really made me timid pulling the string through which caused 1hr + for me to string the crosses. I was wondering if anyone had any experience with burning strings or ways to avoid it with a certain tecnique.
Thanks

David Pavlich
11-07-2005, 06:16 AM
The way to solve this is to rake or comb the cross string as you pull it. Go to http://sptennis.com/ and click on the video camera for videos on stringing.

David

vinnier6
11-07-2005, 07:13 AM
excellent link...

armand
11-07-2005, 08:46 AM
The way to solve this is to rake or comb the cross string as you pull it. Go to http://sptennis.com/ and click on the video camera for videos on stringing.

DavidI watched the winner of the fastest stringing contest and I actually found it pretty funny. The commentator sounds a lot like Triumph the Insult Comic Dog and the trade ambiance reminded me of the Westminster Dog Show. At any given second, I was expecting the commentator to say something like "that's an excellent stringing technique...for me to poop on!" or "great mounting technique, reminds of the time I mounted Paris Hilton's chihuahua, if you get my drift"

David Pavlich
11-07-2005, 10:52 AM