PDA

View Full Version : Suitable string and tension for RDX 500 Plus

HappyLefty
11-07-2005, 11:53 AM
Guys,
Recently I bought a RDX 500 Plus and I was wondering which is the right string and tension for this racquet.
In priority order, I'm looking for spin potential (my game style), comfort (my elbow issue) and durability (my wallet).
I have no experience with this racquet, so your opinions are welcome.

Note: I'm aware spin is a matter of technique rather than a brand. That's why I posted "spin potential" not just spin. :rolleyes:

Jerry Seinfeld
11-07-2005, 02:42 PM
Laserfiber Laserlite XL 16L offers good spin, excellent comfort and above average durability. It is a solid core string with multiple wraps that help account for the comfort.

Kevo
11-07-2005, 05:12 PM
Head RIP Control would be a good one to test. Any 16 or 17 gauge softer synthetic gut would probably work as well depending on the priority you place on spin versus durability. With the RDX 500 MP, you can't help but get spin on almost any string.

HappyLefty
11-08-2005, 05:46 PM
Laserfiber Laserlite XL 16L offers good spin, excellent comfort and above average durability. It is a solid core string with multiple wraps that help account for the comfort.

TW doesn`t have this string. Any other recommendation?

samster
11-08-2005, 07:18 PM
Natural gut mains and Klip K-boom in crosses, both 17 gauges. Strings don't move that much and you get wicked spin.

samster
11-08-2005, 07:21 PM
I also forgot to mention that I have (still have) shoulder problems and this combination is comfortable despite the K-boom being a polyester string. It is a soft poly with pretty decent tension retention. I use this combination in my MP-tour 5 and Ti-80 (both midplus rackets).

JediMindTrick
11-09-2005, 08:06 AM