PDA

View Full Version : Tennis Magazine Racquet Issue

srvnvly
02-26-2004, 05:31 PM
Just received this issue today. Has anybody checked out the swingweights listed on the summary page? How can these vary so much from TWs calculations?

For example, Wilson PS Tour 95: TW = 325; Tennis Mag = 313

iscottius
02-26-2004, 05:36 PM
The swingweights listed in Tennis Magazine are probably from the manufacturer and are unstrung, TW uses actual strung weights measured at TW.

Benjamin
02-27-2004, 03:05 PM
How did you get your issue so fast? :?

I have a subscription and haven't seen mine yet!!!

Benjamin

Morpheus
02-27-2004, 04:31 PM
The problem with TWs specs are that they use a very limited sample size, and given the manufacturing variability present in all frames today, they have a good chance of being significantly different than the manufacturers published specs, which (if honest) are based on the actual manufacturing capability.

I tend to favor the mfg specs over TWs for that reason.

Example: TW selects three rackets to test of a given brand. TW weighs them in at 11.5, 11.6 and 12.5. TW averages the three to arrive at 11.9. The actual median of the mfg spec is 12.3. It just happens that two of the three rackets tested by TW were on the light side of the spec. You are more likely to get a 12.3 than an 11.8. I've always thought it would be helpful if the manufacturers would give us a midpoint and Std deviation so we have an idea just how differnet the rackets may be. It's frustrating ordering a racket you thought would weigh 11.2 and get 11.7, but it happens all the time.

babar
02-27-2004, 08:24 PM
I just got a 6.1 recently and it weighed in at 12.2 oz unstrung. The TW specs are 12.4 oz strung weight. I was also interested in the Triad 6.0 a while back and got one that was 12.0 oz strung, when the unstrung weight was 11.7 oz, so the string job should add about .6 oz, not .3 oz. It is confusing and frustrating.

joe sch
02-28-2004, 08:33 AM