PDA

View Full Version : Natural Gut Longevity

orange223
02-27-2004, 10:34 AM
I have been stringing my own racquets for about six or eight months now and I restring them after every 10-15 hours of play. I would like to try playing with gut. I was curious, how long could I expect the string to last? I am a 3.5 player, all courter, and I play 1-2 times a week indoors and outdoors on hardcourts, singles and doubles leagues. I play a couple of local tournaments a year. On a good week, in addition to playing 1-2 times, I may get an hour of serving practice in as well (flat,topspin,slice & amer.twist). I break mains using Xcel Premium after two weeks (yes, I am from the dark side! PD+ OS @ 57lbs.) so I switched to Syntronic Brio and the durability is much better. I don't crush the ball, but I can hit with decent pace for a 3.5. Could I expect more than two weeks play at a 3.5 level with gut? Heat and humidity will rear its ugly head in a few months too. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

orange223
02-27-2004, 11:12 AM
Forgot to note that I use 16 gague string.
Thanx

Jerry Seinfeld
02-27-2004, 12:40 PM
Properly cared for, with string savers, I would suspect you would easily double the life of the strings you currently use, perhaps even triple. Try a good 16 ga gut and make sure you store your racquet properly and I bet the longevity will surprise you...as will the feel and tension maintenance.

orange223
02-27-2004, 01:43 PM
Thanks much, Jer. I always keep my racquets inside at room temp. I'll order some VS Touch 16 and give it a whirl. I just didn't know whether to expect 2 weeks or 2 months out of it. It will be interesting to see how different temps and humidity levels affect the playability and longevity of gut. Around 50 degrees outside, Bab multifiliment feels like a piece of wood. I like the soft feel of a multi at the net, but I still need some umph from the baseline. Thanks again for the response.

NoBadMojo
02-27-2004, 04:39 PM