PDA

View Full Version : What to do with frustration

cadfael_tex
12-12-2005, 03:43 PM
Because I am frustrated. As you may know from numerous previous posts, I started playing two months ago after a 19 year hiatus. I've made some strides but I am not consitent. I can see in my head what to do and when I'm hitting with a coach (which I've done once) I can hit that way. In matches, however, I can't move my feet and I, well, just really suck. I get very tenative in matches and just can't seem to get out of it. I was to the point today of just packing it in but I won't bother you folks with another whiny "should I quit" thread looking for pity and/or encouragement - but if you want to show me a little pity or encouragement I won't turn it down.

So what do I do to get over this?!?!?!?

goober
12-12-2005, 04:05 PM
I was in a similar situation as you with the long hiatus. First of all tennis should be fun. If you are playing better in practice than matches you are probably too tense and not relaxed or too concerned about the score. Tennis is one of the few sports you can do till you are very old so go out and enjoy it!

Here are some pointers I think are helpful

1) how good shape are you in? It may be high time to start a regular exercise program with cardio/weights.

2)play as many practice matches and real matches as you can. You will be less tentative and matchplay will be second nature.

3)worry less about the outcomes and focus more on the joy of playing- corny but true.

cadfael_tex
12-12-2005, 05:52 PM
Thanks goober.

Shape could probably be better but I was surprised that I didn't have a problem hitting constantly with the coach for 45 minutes.

I think i need to relax more but how to do that. I keep telling myself it's just for fun but I'm such a competetive fill in the blank that it isn't working yet. Anybody know how to tone down a competitive nature so that I can relax on the court.

FiveO
12-12-2005, 06:13 PM