PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with PolyStar Energy and LM Prestige

tarheelbornjohn
01-18-2006, 07:52 AM
I have been stringing for several years now and this is not just my error. I have now had this happen 4 times. I am stringing my LM Prestige MP with PolyStar Energy. The prestige has little slots for the string to go in on the Grommets and if you have one you know that when stringing it will "pop" into the grament when tension is applied. I use a dropweight and have been "gently" letting down the drop weight rather than having it "fall" on its own like I usually do with other strings. When the string catches on this slot as I am tensioning, and pops thru it has broken doing the crosses on four different string jobs. I have ended up using Lux ALU or Bab Huricane for the crosses so I can finish the string job. Has anyone else had this happen. I have not had this trouble with other strings on the same racquets. I like the way the string plays in a hybrid since I have not been able to complete a full job of it.

Can I get replacement Grommets that are open like the Instinct or other Head racquets. Please Help.

tarheelbornjohn
01-19-2006, 06:41 AM
So no one has had similar problems?

racingdad23
01-19-2006, 01:10 PM
Sorry have not strung a Prestige but absolutely no problem stringing Prince and Fischer with this string.

tarheelbornjohn
01-19-2006, 01:17 PM
I have not had any problems with it breaking when not popping thru the CAP gromment so I would think that other racquets would be fine. I have also not had a problem with it breaking too soon after it is strung up. I guess it is just the quick snap that this string can not handle. Lux ALU, Huricane, ProPlasma Poly or NG never seem to do this to me.

10isbum
01-19-2006, 01:24 PM