PDA

View Full Version : Clamps 101

jtreed2000
01-23-2006, 11:19 AM
I'm new to stringing and I'm thinking about purchasing a stringer. Not sure if I want a cheap electric or pull down yet. I have some clamp and mount questions...

Floating clamps are the vice-grip like clamps and you put on two adjacent strings, right?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of fixed/floating clamps?

How often do they wear out?

Is there a cheap way to rough up the surface so you can continue using them after they get slick/slippery/etc?

Do the mounts 2/4/6 really make a difference?

Thanks

Valjean
01-23-2006, 02:41 PM
A few years back the USRSA recommended a minimum of four mounts; their study literally found that sufficient, with no added benefit from anything over it. Of course today it's tough to find a machine with just four. Get fixed clamps; they don't slip anywhere near as often and should grip the string closer to the frame. There is a clamp cleaning stone sold for Gamma's diamond-coated floating clamps--http://www.atssports.com/Tennis-Supplies.cfm?PageNum_Results=2&category=0&secondary=25&manufacturer=0--and several alternative means of cleansing them around. I use alcohol-treated velcro strips glued back-to-back. You could locate some of the others with a search of this board. You probably should be asking what nonstandard-issue tools and accessories are recommended, unless that's occurred to you already.

Gaines Hillix
01-23-2006, 04:34 PM