PDA

View Full Version : Wise Question


Anonymous
06-08-2004, 06:22 AM
Why do you lose 360 racquet rotation with a Wise?
I'm thinking of getting one and an alpha revo 4000

rich s
06-08-2004, 07:55 AM
Gaines claims that losing the 360* table rotation is the only downside to the Wise tensionhead.

rich

Matt H.
06-08-2004, 10:29 AM
how do you lose 360* rotation??? :?:

SunDog
06-08-2004, 10:44 AM
the head is probably attached to a machine in such an orientation that it is in the 360 dgree pathway of the racquet handle. no big deal.

Gaines Hillix
06-08-2004, 11:39 AM
The frame mount and the string gripper on the tension head are on the same plane. When the racquet is rotated on the frame mount it will hit the string gripper, so it won't rotate a full 360o. There are other setups that don't have 360o rotation. I believe the Laserfibre MS200TT is another one. In some ways this is more accurate because the pull of the string is straight through the grommets, not at a downward angle. This reduces friction and tension loss.

Rafter4ever
06-08-2004, 01:39 PM
Hey Gaines,


Does the Alpha 4000 (without Wise Tension Head) has a 360 rotation problem by itself ?

Thanks....

Gaines Hillix
06-08-2004, 02:48 PM
Rafter4ever, this is not a problem. Some machines allow 360o rotation, others do not. AFAIK, the REV4000 with the crank tension allows it.

Anonymous
06-09-2004, 06:03 AM
So with the Wise head I will get about 270 degree rotation, right?

Gaines Hillix
06-09-2004, 07:48 AM
Salman, you get around 330o of rotation, you just can't rotate it all the way around. You have to stop and rotate the frame back the other way to reach the other side.

Anonymous
06-09-2004, 08:13 AM
Thanks

Steve Huff
06-10-2004, 02:40 PM
With the crank, you just crank it back far enough to rotate the racket past the tension head. With the Wise tension head, it's fixed. It's not made to move every string pull. I guess you could add an extension to the arm that holds the tension head and mount it far enough away from the mounts that you'd have 360 rotation. But, you'd need a lot of string and you'd be working a long way from the frame most of the time.