PDA

View Full Version : Will James Blake have a career year?

vllockhart
01-27-2006, 10:18 AM
Andy Roddick thinks James will have a career year this year. He's been hit and miss so far. He won a tourney but has had 2 losses to guys he's capable of beating.

He seems to be believing in himself a lot better but still has a ways to go. He gotta keep his aggression up and tell himself that he won't lose. I'd just plotz to see him win a major and I think the stars could align that way for him soon if he can start to really routine these guys ranked below him. You have to get to the big matches consistently before you can start winning them.

Just a HUGE fan's humble opinion.

fantenam08
01-27-2006, 11:18 AM
I'm a novice when it comes to tennis, but my prediction is he will win a few more atp titles and possibly make it as far as the 4th round or Quaterfinals at the US Open. Possibly the second or third round at Roland Garros and Wimbledon. He will end a moderately successful year ranked somewhere in the teens, and with the satisfaction of enjoying the highest rank he ever had, and promises for a better 2007.

I'm also a Blake fan, love his tenacity, but he gets ahead of himself when he is playing, and costs himself vital points. He is mentally tougher, but I am afraid he will still fall short of his goal. I don't see him as a grandslam winner. The US open would be his best chance, and even there, he would have to beat either Roddick, Hewitt, or Federer first, and all those players have dominated him at tournaments.

fantenam08
02-11-2006, 02:15 PM
bump for Blake fans.

Ronaldo
02-11-2006, 02:33 PM
Still seems to give away too many points after overhitting. But gotta run what you brung to the match. Lucky to see his match with Agassi replayed in Hi-Def on new years eve. Final point summed it up. Predict it will stay an Instant Classic.

PM_
02-11-2006, 03:04 PM
well...he's already won a tourney in...just over a month. i would say he got a good start.

VictorS.