PDA

View Full Version : NoBadMojo: ? on Stepanek racquet

hoosierbr
02-26-2006, 01:29 PM
Mojo:
Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought that Radek Stepanek used a Tour 10 VE Mid with a custom 16x19 pattern last year? Now, it seems as though he's using the DNX 9. The Mid has a 93 headsize and the DNX a 98.
How likely is it that he switched from a mid to a midplus and, seemingly, adjusted so quickly? Doesn't seem likely to me but I don't know.
Do you have any info. on this?

Thanks.

saf
02-26-2006, 03:12 PM
According to my Volkl rep and Volkl's web site, he switched. I have not been able to study enough photos to see if it is a real switch or not or a PJ. I have both a Tour 10 Ve mid and DNX 9, so I think if I studied the right picture I could tell. The Head shape is different and the V is more subtle in the DNX 9. I've been playing with a DNX 9 weighted to the same weight as the tour 10 Ve Mid, however, it's balanced a little different. It is by no means a high powered frame. I hit with the VE mid today a little. It is a little softer and a little lower powered, however, with a 16x19 pattern instead of an 18x20 the power levles would be more similar.

I'm like you. I kind of thought it to be a bit interesting that he would switch. However, according to my rep he claims they are really trying to push the DNX lines and want all of thier pro's using the DNX 8, 9 or 10. I know they will be releasing a DNX 10 mid in the summer. I believe that is what Damm is using now. It's possible too that they took Stepanek's old mold and added the DNX material to make a customized frame for him.

You never know for sure unless you ask him???

czech09
02-26-2006, 03:18 PM
Radek Stepanek is the man :).

hoosierbr
02-26-2006, 03:18 PM
Thanks, Saf.