PDA

View Full Version : My REVO 4000 just arrived...my review....

EddyC
06-16-2004, 06:08 AM
I'm writing this based on what I would have like to have been told when deciding on whether to buy a Gamma X-ST or the Revo 4000.

I've been having on going conversations with Mark G. from Alpha about the Revo 4000. When he informed last week that they had arrived I placed my order and just received it yesterday afternoon. Here are my initial impressions:

1. I ordered the machine, along with the tension calibrator, from Tennis Warehouse because I wanted to get the year subscription to USRSA. To my disappointment, the well packaged big box only contained the stringer. Also missing were the grip and string package.

2. The machine is heavy...much heavier than I had thought it would be. It took assistance from my brother to help unpack it.

3. Assembly was a breeze. The instructions were sufficient with pictures to help you along.

4. WARNING: I'm an Engineer so I notice a lot of details that most people wouldn't even care about. So the next couple of comments are pretty minor...

Once assembled, I did notice somethings that I didn't think that I would mind looking at it as a picture versus in real life. The big thing was that it is painted blue through out...which i though looked cool but could become old and worn with use from tools falling on the paint and chipping it. The Gamma X-ST that I was considering is mostly silver so I don't think it would have that problem. There are also areas on the machine that could have been painted a bit better....

5. The plastic mat that lays over the tool tray wasn't cut very well. On one of the ends, it almost looks as if the tool used to cut it was pretty dull.

Closing Remarks: