PDA

View Full Version : comments on my ordered racquet please.

mrcapslock
03-06-2006, 09:19 PM
I just recently made my school JV team and i'm hoping to transition to school varsity team pretty soon. I'm fairly new to tennis and as of now i don't have a consistent serve but I am fairly decent at forehand and shaky on backhand.

I was wondering if this racquet I ordered is beginner friendly and also good when I transition to a higher level of play.

Make any comments to this racquet as well as changes you would recommend and strength and weakness of this racquet.

Head Liquidmetal Radical Oversize (grip size is 4 1/2)
String: Head Intellistring Silver String
Tension: 59

This is the first serious racquet I've purchase, so any comments would be appreciated.

Aeropro joe
03-06-2006, 09:28 PM
sounds like a good choice to me. i use the midplus version and its suits me very well. ur oversize frame will make finding the sweetspot a little easier and is more forgiving, which is a plus for beginner/ intermediate players. the radical is a very comfy frame, and others on the board here have accused this racket of having a hollow, tinny sound, but i dont find that present at all. actually a very solid racket. my favorite shot is return of serves which i can pound deep and move in to the net. serves are not as "hot" as a pure drive, but there is excellent control, which helps get more aces than cranking up the mph, just take a look at federer who does not hit the hardest, but has a lethal weapon by disguising it and he has so much control. roddick on the other hand may have the mph, but pople on tour have begun to groove his serve and recognize it. good luck and best wishes in ur pursuit of varsity.

mrcapslock
03-06-2006, 09:31 PM
nice comments :)

what about the tension and string choice? the tension I picked is kind of random and the string choice is not too much of an informative decision.

i hope i made the right choices on those also :)

Aeropro joe
03-06-2006, 09:39 PM