PDA

View Full Version : Workout plan PLEASE HELP! :)

PHSTennis
06-30-2004, 07:01 AM
I started working out at 24 Hour Fitness this morning... the machines and stuff are all weird... I didnt know what the heck to do at all good thing, this guy was nice enough to help me! That was cool... Well what should I be working out for tennis? What do you guys workout, and if you guys goto 24 Hour Fitness, what machines do you use! ah! Do you do any cardio? Thanks.[/b]

Rickson
06-30-2004, 07:14 AM
I used to be a personal trainer so I could help. I don't know what your goals are so that's important too. Get bigger? Get leaner? Stronger? When you feel out a machine or free weight exercise for the first time, do just 1 set of 15 repetitions. Make sure the weight is light so you can use good form and when you get used to the exercise, increase the sets, increase the weight, and lower the reps. Example-1st time on a leg press, 1 set, 15 reps, light weight. Following week, 2nd time- 2 sets, 12 reps, slightly heavier weight. Following week, 3rd time-3 sets, 10 reps, moderate weight. Stay with 3 sets for a while and increase intensity(weight) when the exercise gets too easy for you and don't ever sacrifice good form for heavier weights, If your form gets sloppy, lower the weight.

netman
06-30-2004, 08:55 AM
Get a copy of Donald Chu's book, "Power Tennis Training" . He has a number of weight routines specifically tailored for tennis. Its in paperback, so its not very expensive. Your local library may also have a copy.

PHSTennis
06-30-2004, 04:28 PM
Thanks Get leaner? Stronger? both upper and lower body thanks Well the guy had me do low weights 3 reps 8 each and said to get used to the forms first... thanks rickson, netman I have school right now im going to be late I ll check that out on Amazon when I get home... more adds would be appreciated thanks!

Mikael
07-01-2004, 10:19 AM