PDA

View Full Version : How long did it take?

Janne
05-12-2006, 12:02 PM
How long did it take for you guys and girls to develop a pretty good flat serve that almost always goes into the right box and with a pretty good speed?

The reason I want to know is that Im a beginner, only taken 3 lessons, 1 hour each and Ive tried to practice my serve on my own for the last 3 days around one and a half - two hours, and I still hit it so it bounces before it hits the net, or screw it up in another way.

My throwing is also a problem. I usually throw it so that it would land on my head, behind me, or too much infront, so I end up throwing it up about 4-5 times before I actually hit (dont know if you can even call it hitting :( ) it.

jamauss
05-12-2006, 12:11 PM
I have quite a bit of perspective on this so I'll share.

Currently, I have a flat, hard-as-I-can-swing first serve that goes in about 40-50% of the time. It has literally taken me YEARS to get it as good as it is now. Same for the 2nd serve. My 2nd serve is a topspin/slice serve that goes in most of the time and has a fairly good "kick" to it. I average about 2 or 3 double faults per set on my serve. Maybe once per service game. That might sound like a poor percentage but my 2nd serve is about 80-90 mph and when my serve is "on" I tend to get a lot of free points from it - even on my 2nd serve.

I've spent many hours on the court practicing my serve. I've also spent time practicing nothing but my toss. I took a piece of chalk with me to the court once and drew a circle on the court where I thought my toss should land and just kept practicing my toss until the ball landed in the circle 5 times in a row. Your toss is just as important of a piece of your serve as your swing, I think. Knowing when you've made an acceptable toss is important. If you watch pros play you'll notice that they toss the ball up and just catch it occasionally and toss it again because they can recognize a poor toss.