PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a peculiar newbie

Popstavri
07-01-2004, 12:23 PM
Hello,

I'm a 30 years old male, 6'02" 210lbs with an average posture. I started playing tennis a year ago, after playing table tennis for 15 years at competitive level. I never worked with a trainer, but most probably I'm considered begginer

I have a natural tendency to twist my wirst and put a strong spin on all my shots (I never used to hit a ball flat);, so I heavy racket is a real pain (I tried); my foot and handwork are still a big mess. I spent most of the time on the basline, hitting hard forhands and sliced backhands - everything else sucks.

So far I played 2 Walmart specials - very powerfill OS Head (soft capatapult with no control), and Wilson "US Open" - a rather stiff OS stick with nasty non-elastic strings.

Now I need something serious. I demoed an entirely different breed - Head Ti Classic MP, and saw that I'm not up for it, and got lost. I don't even know what to demo, and don't want to waste the whole summer trying different rackets!

Any advice what might work for me will be very, very much apprecaited. I'd like to stay away from light rackets and get rid of occasional pain in the right palm and wirst.

Thank you,

Travis

Kick Serve
07-01-2004, 01:04 PM
I would suggest demoing some "tweener" racquets. Based on your size I would recommend a tweener that walks on the "player's racquet" side of the fence. TW has some great ones on sale -- Head Ti.Radical $79.99, Volkl Catapult 10 $89.99, Prince TT Warrior $74.95, Prince TT Bandit $59.95. These have all proven to be great racquets and are easily customized with inexpensive lead tape. There are plenty of others, but while you're still trying to figure out your ideal racquet specs I'd hit the sale rack. Good luck!

a verrry large duck
07-01-2004, 05:44 PM
popstavri: