PDA

View Full Version : Wet tennis ball

Neutron Star
05-16-2006, 05:46 PM
Hi... i am new to tennis as well as joining this forum. I really know very little about tennis... especially those technical terms and stuff, i don't really understand...so I likely will have questions coming up once in a while that may seem to be 'common sense' to you guys who have been playing tennis for quite a while. Please bear with me and be patient with me!

Anyway, i went to practice hitting the ball against a school brick wall in the evening, but it rained in the afternoon, so the ground was wet with occasional puddles. Today, there was very little wind, so i decided i should go practice or else, i don't know when's the next day that there's little/no wind and there's no rain at the time i decide to go practice.
Of course, i missed hitting the ball and it rolled into puddles and got wet. So my question is, is it bad for the ball to soak up water? Should i try to squeeze the water out of the ball or put it near a heater to dry it up faster? Or is it good enough to just use tissue to absorb whatever water is on the surface of the ball?
*Basically, how to maintain a tennis ball for a longer life span? (sorry, i know you guys might think why go through so much trouble asking for just a tennis ball.... but this ball is quite new, i don't want it to 'depreciate' so soon!) =)

Thank you very much~

TheSnowMan
05-16-2006, 06:05 PM
BEWARE: Water Kills Tennis Balls...
I don't know how to save a tennis ball if it's wet...

katastrof
05-17-2006, 02:46 AM
I usually hit it to the ground very fast or to the wall high up with some EXTREME spin. Gets rid of most of the water quickly, since felt is not very absorbant. That makes it playable for that day, but eventually the ball goes in the practice bin. You might try to play again with it if the ball hasn't stayed wet for long.

mowcopian
05-17-2006, 05:06 AM
i think tht as soon as u play with the tennis balls in rain that they lose their performance