PDA

View Full Version : Hard Headedness

dmvprof
05-19-2006, 06:12 AM
I often suprise myself at how damned stupid I am. I get through my life day to day fine, but then, sometimes, I get a clue and my stupidity is revealed to me.

I've been playing tennis off and on for damn near 30 years. In all of that time I have developed so many habits that are not only hard to break, but are held onto despite not being succesful at much.

Being a baseline player primarily, my ready position is with a forhand grip. It's my comfort zone. When I am setting up for a ball, if I don't have that grip, I don't feel right about the point. And for some reason, my raquets all seem to develop grooves for my grip so badly that I can only hold the raquet on one side since the grooves are reversed if I flip the grip around in my hand.

Here's where the real stupidity comes in. For years and years, people have told me to setup for volleys with my backhand grip, and keep it there even on the forhand side. But it never felt right to me. I resisted it as much as I could, and despite witnessing ball after ball going in the net or long, I still couldn't get comfortable that way. Having people simply tell me to switch didn't seem to register. It wasn't until last weekend that I forced myself into this BH grip. After a few games of feeling awkward, I started nailing volleys like I never had before, FH and BH side. It was so enthralling that the game felt brand new to me. Like I had a new toy or something.

I guess this is simply an old dog/new trick story, but I just think it's interesting that I couldn't really get behind using the grip until I got the positive feedback of good results.

So yea, I may be a bit stupid, but at least I know it. ;)

Bungalo Bill
05-19-2006, 06:38 AM
I often suprise myself at how damned stupid I am. I get through my life day to day fine, but then, sometimes, I get a clue and my stupidity is revealed to me.