PDA

View Full Version : buttcap problem- NEED HELP FAST

tennis_nerd22
05-20-2006, 04:57 PM
hey,
i had put lead on the grip of my racket but it distorted the shape a bit, so i opened the buttcap and put the lead strips in there. i then put cotton on top of it till it was stuffed to the top. i started playing with the racket, and it started rattling. now i cant play with it, and it sounds like the weights are in the neck of the frame. my dad took all of the cotton from one side out (somehow), and the weight still wont come out from that side, but it rattles. we put a long stick down there, it went to the bottom of the grip, but it didnt touch any of the lead on that side. im screwed because my dads ****ed at me and i have a 3 hour round robin tomorrow and a prov tournament friday. this is my main racket. i have a backup, but its an old titanium one, and i wont be able to play much with it unless i add some lead (ya my dad's gonna be real happy to do that... (he doesnt even believe why i did it in the first place, though i explained)). i dont know what to do now...

help? :(

tennis_nerd22
05-20-2006, 05:00 PM
btw i think i know what i did wrong... i didnt put cotton BEFORE putting the weights in... GOD DAMMET :(

metsjets
05-20-2006, 05:23 PM
maybe...you can crush the lead somehow??

tennis_nerd22
05-20-2006, 06:02 PM
lol i cant. anyways what happened was when my dad was trying to take all the cotton while i was hitting outside to try and get used to my backup racket, which btw is completely different, the rattling stopped... he got all the way to the end of the handle of the racket, but there were no weights there. so they've all moved into the neck of the racket... changes the feel completely but ill get used to it. if anything, i should develop my technique even more and then customize equipment later.

well that was my lesson for the year... (i mean day :D), maybe you learned something too (probably not, but oh well, you bothered to read this thread ;))