PDA

View Full Version : In much need of a bigger kick

theartoftennis
05-20-2006, 07:55 PM
Just came back from Newks Tennis Academy(Great academy! Broke 100degrees, though), and I couldn't do anything on my serve. I've been playing for 8-9 months now, and I use a slice/flat first serve. Maybe around 70-80. My second serve is a very "consistant" kick serve. Most kids my level have never even SEEN a kick serve, so I feel I would usually have the advantage, but it's not like that at all. It's like it pops up with a little kick to the right and balls are pounded back at me. I've tried increasing my racquet-head speed by alot, but all that gives is more pace and a ball that bounces really high and barely misses the fence. I toss the ball maybe a foot to the left, and my front-back placement is very inconsistant. Sometimes it's above my head, sometimes into the court, and even behind me.

Could it be my swing path? My toss? Footwork?

snoflewis
05-20-2006, 08:55 PM
wow...70-80 mph after playing less than a year? was your serve clocked?

theartoftennis
05-20-2006, 10:14 PM
Yeah, I play alot. Maybe 3-4 times a week for a couple hours. Trying to catch up to my age since I started so late.

andyroddick's mojo
05-20-2006, 10:15 PM
how old are you actually?

Rep. Timothy Calhoun
05-20-2006, 10:21 PM
Just came back from Newks Tennis Academy(Great academy! Broke 100degrees, though), and I couldn't do anything on my serve. I've been playing for 8-9 months now, and I use a slice/flat first serve. Maybe around 70-80. My second serve is a very "consistant" kick serve. Most kids my level have never even SEEN a kick serve, so I feel I would usually have the advantage, but it's not like that at all. It's like it pops up with a little kick to the right and balls are pounded back at me. I toss the ball maybe a foot to the left, and my front-back placement is very inconsistant. Sometimes it's above my head, sometimes into the court, and even behind me.