PDA

View Full Version : The Most Ridiculous Gimmick

Russiadude
03-02-2004, 08:42 PM
In the latest issue of Tennis Magazine there is an ad for the Yonex RDX 500. Anyone bother to read it? I did. Now, I don't know whether I can respect tennis brands anymore. First, the ad mentions "Memory Titanium" which has double the restitution force of ordinary graphite. Then it mentions "Super Metal." Yes, Super Metal. My problem is with the wording itself. For all I know, Liquid Metal, HyperCarbon, and this Super Metal might actually do what they are supposed to, I'm no scientist I have no idea. But why in the world do they come up with these cheesy names for the actual materials? A gimmick is supposed to make me want to buy the product, not think that is is some kind of con.

Steve Huff
03-02-2004, 09:26 PM
If they invent something new, they have to name it. They apply for a patent (for the invention) and copyright (for the name of it). If they don't take that flashy sounding name, some other company will. It's kind of like when Head came out with the titanium series and painted their rackets a pewter-looking gray. They could have been painted all red or all black, but the color was there to remind you that it's TITANIUM. If Yonex just said "it's a new metal that doubles the returned force", people wouldn't notice it. But, when they say "Super Metal", people want to find out WHY it's so super. That's the marketing. Now, some of the engineers take over and try to TELL you why its so super---how the material works better than the materials in other rackets. The same with HYPER CARBON. People want to know what the differences are. And, you may not agree with all thats said, but at least they have our studying the fine print now.

Swan Song
03-02-2004, 10:38 PM
That so-called memory titanium is their Ultimum TIs

Deuce
03-03-2004, 12:12 AM
"Ramble on..." - that's what the racquet companies do with their endless ridiculous gimmicks.

Grimjack
03-03-2004, 04:08 AM