PDA

View Full Version : Nervous and no confidence at the net, result: missing everything!

djones
05-23-2006, 02:43 AM
I used to play serve & volley a little bit.
It worked out quite alright, but I did it mostly for fun, also during moments in a match where my usual game just wouldn't work.

Back in those days I played with a Head Ti and I Radical oversize.

But when I started playing tennis again, a little over 2 years ago, I really didn't feel confident at the net anymore.
I didn't play any matches tho, but even in practice/fun matches (that's all I do btw), I was affraid to go to the net.

Now I don't even approach the net when I warming up, that embarresed I am, when I hit all those balls long and into the net.

I have since then changed from the oversized racquets to the Head Prestige Classic, which works just fine for me, but at the net (which I don't think has got anything to do with the racquet) I just can't play even one decent volley.

A couple of weeks ago, I think I went to the net about 8 times during 3 sets, I think I played one volley in between the lines, but lost all 8 points:-)

What's the best thing for me to do, to gain a little more confidence?
Right now I feel completely helpless out there, I don't even feel as if I'm pressuring my opponent.

Btw, I'm also affraid to smash:-)

wyutani
05-23-2006, 03:13 AM
quit playing net rusher...try ur luck on baselininig...

Tennismastery
05-23-2006, 05:19 AM
I used to play serve & volley a little bit.
It worked out quite alright, but I did it mostly for fun, also during moments in a match where my usual game just wouldn't work.

Back in those days I played with a Head Ti and I Radical oversize.

But when I started playing tennis again, a little over 2 years ago, I really didn't feel confident at the net anymore.
I didn't play any matches tho, but even in practice/fun matches (that's all I do btw), I was affraid to go to the net.