PDA

View Full Version : Problems with hitting the ball

Delzac
05-23-2006, 07:42 AM
hi, i just started tennis recently. i have this phobia of hitting the ball hard( or lightly) as it tends to fly high up. i understand that it is a problem with my racket face being too open, what do u advice me to do??

Thx

wyutani
05-23-2006, 07:47 AM
hi, i just started tennis recently. i have this phobia of hitting the ball hard( or lightly) as it tends to fly high up. i understand that it is a problem with my racket face being too open, what do u advice me to do??

Thx

i got this problem when i was a newbie. i tried playing against the wall, im cured mate'...try the wall

Silentgunz
05-23-2006, 07:53 AM
keep ur racquet face closed

Delzac
05-23-2006, 08:03 AM
another thing is, if u want to hit and ball make it move in parrallel to the doubles line, and keep the ball low, u will have to bend ur wrist to the very extreme, right??

chess9
05-23-2006, 08:45 AM
Don't practice against a wall unless you've had lessons from a pro. Why practice trash strokes? Every bad stroke is a stroke that must be undone by your future pro.

GET LESSONS. Would you teach yourself to play the violin, or learn brain surgery by correspondence course? :)

-Robert

Neutron Star
05-23-2006, 09:30 AM
Hi, i'm also new to playing tennis and i also tend to hit the ball and it goes up... >_<
what does it mean to keep the racquet face open/closed?

thanks!

JRstriker12
05-23-2006, 11:41 AM
Hi, i'm also new to playing tennis and i also tend to hit the ball and it goes up... >_<
what does it mean to keep the racquet face open/closed?

thanks!

If you racket face is open, it means the face is pointing up toward the sky.

If it's closed, the racket face is pointing more towards the ground.

If you're skying the ball because the face is to open, try switching your grip to close the racket face a bit. For example, a semi westren grip will close the racket face a little bit more than a continental or eastern grip.