PDA

View Full Version : Manhattan Tennis Clubs

paul bunyan's mistress
05-24-2006, 01:19 PM
I'm going to be working in Manhattan for the summer and was hoping to fine tune my game. I played tennis in high school, but it's been 6 years since I've hit a ball. I definitely have not reached my peak as a player (right now, I'm probably between 3.0 and 3.5), and wanted to know if anyone's had experience with any of the particular coaches/clubs/clinics in Manhattan. Thanks in advance for any feedback!

-- PBM

BeachTennis
05-24-2006, 01:56 PM
Check out my friend KOKO at http://www.tennisnyc.com

They have all kinds of people playing tennis in nyc!

Roforot
05-24-2006, 05:01 PM
http://www.tennisnyc.com/rezaadeli22.jpg

"Reza Adeli (photo above) said smiling after doing drills/evaluation prior to playing with other league members. Reza underestimates his game, "I am a beginner!" but in reality, he is actually an intermediate player. "It's mental for me," he said. "Many times during match games, I will be up 5-0, then I would lose the set!"

If you want to toughen up, get rid of the fru-fru dog :)

In seriousness, looking at that site makes me homesick, but on the other hand I like not having to get up at 0530 to make reservations!

GuyClinch
05-24-2006, 09:41 PM
Well..

As a guy who grew up in the suburbs of boston - NYC is a bit shocking. Tennis courts are either tricky to come by (in prime time) or very expensive. Coaching is very expensive. I am taking a few private lessons in CP and at 50 - 60 dollars its a "bargain."

We need to know more. Where do you live in the city? How much time do you have to dedicate to tennis? What is your budget? How far are you willing to travel?

Some of the obvious places in the city - public courts like Central Park and the courts along the west side. Cheap but you will have to wait and can play for ONE HOUR. That's a shocker.