PDA

View Full Version : How far can I get?

blablabla
05-25-2006, 01:23 AM
Ok, well here's a little background on my tennis abilities: I started playing when i was 8, and I played for about 2 years until i was 10. People told me I have a lot of natural talent, but I stopped playing the game (maybe played 2x/year) until I was 13. I started back up, and was surprised to find my game hadn't gone downhill too much. I lacked consistency, but my shots were there. I fooled around with tennis for the next 2 years, not taking it very seriously..Didn't go out for the team freshman year because I had other priorities at the time. Made varsity sophomore year, and played dubs the whole year, getting a decent record. I was about high 4.0-4.5 during this time(self rated but not over rated as most people would do-im honest to my abilities)

Actually, I started taking tennis seriously and spent a lot of time training after that season was over. That summer, i traveled a lot and did not play as much. I resumed in the winter, and this year shared the #1 singles spot with a frined of mine. My record was somewhere in the .500 range (SoCal south coast league), but I lost a lot of matches due to focus/concentration problems that I should have won. I feel like I'm a lot stronger mentally now. Right now, I'm about in th 5.5 ranking, maybe mid 5.0 when playing badly, and when i'm on, i can stay with 6.0 players quite well. I have a strong serve (never got it clocked, but people say 120+), strong, fairly consistent groundstrokes, and decent volleys. My only problem is beating myself. My question to you is: If i can get it together mentally, and be willing to stay in a rally and play percentage tennis, while improving my consistency, is it possible I can play D1 tennis, maybe even futures if I improve enough? I improved from mid 4.0-about 5.5 in a year, so I believe I can do it.