PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here play with Leather grips only?

Duzza
05-29-2006, 02:42 AM
And if so, do you like it more than having an overgrip? I started playing without an overgrip last week, i noticed a whole different feel in my racquet, but it was pretty harsh on my hands and fingers.

thomas martinez
05-29-2006, 05:14 AM
I'm one of the few freaks who do. Started years ago when playing on indoor har-tru which was kept in poor conditions, so I was constantly getting this nasty dust on my grips, which would tear my hand to hell(I didn't sweat much in those days), so the only solution I could find at that time was Fairways. Worked a treat and since then I've used pretty much nothing but, except for when I played Prestige Tours, since I didn't want to staple on those handles, I went back to the stand by Hi-Tec and for a breif stint Toalson Bio-Logic grips. You shouldn't get a harsher feel with an overgrip on leather as compared to a full leather job. So not sure hat is up there.

Duzza
05-29-2006, 05:38 PM
no, i get a harsher feel without an overgrip BUT it plays a lot better, eg. swingweight

snoflewis
05-29-2006, 05:44 PM
i used to play w/ just a leather grip. i liked it a lot. only downside is that i cant just apply it to any racket w/o altering swingweight and ballance and static weight.

ShcMad
05-29-2006, 05:45 PM
Leather alone feels very nice when you hit the ball on the sweetspot. The response and feedback that leather gives you makes you feel like the racquet is just another part of your body.

When I first installed the Babolat leather grip on my racquet, it would stick to my hand like crazy, even when my hands were sweating. After a couple hours, the tackiness and stickiness went away, and it started getting slippery whenever my hands would sweat. One hot day, I was practicing serves, and bam! The frame flew out of my hand. Since that day, I have always been using overgrips over leather.

blubber
06-04-2006, 08:54 AM
4 questions: